# CITY AND COUNTY OF SWANSEA

## NOTICE OF MEETING

You are invited to attend a Meeting of the

## **STANDARDS COMMITTEE**

At:Committee Room 5, Guildhall, SwanseaOn:Friday, 4 September 2015Time:9.30 am

#### AGENDA

Page No.

1 **Apologies for Absence** 2 1 - 2 **Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests** 3 3 - 5 Minutes To approve the Minutes of the Standards Committee held on 5 June 2015 as a true record. 4 **Dispensation Regime (Verbal)** 5 Measures to address attendance at Councillor Training 6 - 8 9 - 21 6 Standards Committee Annual Report 2014-2015 7 **Discussion on questions for future Group Leaders / Chairs** meeting (Verbal) **Discussion on Joint Community Town Councils Forum &** 8 **Standards Committee (Verbal)** Standards & Ethics Conference Wales 2015 - 20 October 2015 9 (Verbal)

10 Workplan 2015-2016

Patrick Arran Head of Legal, Democratic Services & Procurement 26 August 2015 Contact: Democratic Services - 01792 636923

## **STANDARDS COMMITTEE (4)**

### Councillors

#### Labour Councillors: 3

Joe A Hale	Clive E Lloyd
Phil Downing	

#### Liberal Democrat Councillor: 1

L Graham Thomas		

Name	Term of Office	Name	Term of Office
Jill Burgess	19.10.2012 to 18 10.2018	Jennifer Gomes*	05.12.2008 to 04.12.2016
Gareth Evans	01.04.2015 to 31.03.2021	Margaret Williams	01.04.2015 to 31.03.2021
Meirion Howells*	01.08.2008 to 31.07.2016		

#### Others:

Executive	One copy	
Patrick Arran	Head of Legal, Democratic Services &	
	Procurement – Electronic	
Tracey Meredith	Deputy Head of Legal, Democratic Services &	
	Procurement	
Huw Evans	Head of Democratic Services	
Mike Hawes	Head of Financial Services	
Democratic Services	1 Сору	
Archives		
Councillor M H Jones	Chair of Scrutiny Programme Committee – public	
	agenda pack	

#### **Total Copies Needed – 25**

#### NOTE:

- 1. \* Denotes that the **period of office cannot be extended further**.
- 2. The **term of office for Independent Members** can be for not less than 4 nor more than 6 years. They can be reappointed for one further consecutive term but that term cannot be for more than 4 years.
- 3. **Members of the Local Authority** who are members of the Standards Committee will have a term of office of no more than 4 years or ending at the next ordinary local government election following their election, whichever is the shorter.
- 4. The Standards Committee shall not sit if the Independent Members are outnumbered by Councillors. A Councillor shall remove him/herself from the meeting in order for the business to be transacted.